Governance disclosures

Contracts with senior officers

At the date of reporting no senior officers had any interests in existing or proposed contracts with the FPC.


The FPC governing body is a Commission of seven Commissioners appointed by the Governor, on the Minister for Forestry’s recommendation. The Governor appoints a Chair and Deputy Chair from the Commissioners. Commissioners may hold office for up to three years and are eligible to be reappointed. Profiles for the Commissioners can be found on the Commissioners page.


Audit and Risk

The Audit and Risk Committee is responsible for making recommendations to the Commission on the adequacy of internal and external audit arrangements, financial statements, financial administration policies, internal control systems, business policies and practices, compliance with laws, monitoring business risk and reporting procedures. Members of the committee included, Ms Amelia Yam (Chair from 1 August 2018 – 31 December 2019); Mr Nick Bayes (from 31 January 2020) and Co-opted Commissioner Ms Catherine Broadbent (from 1 February 2019); and Dr Louise Duxbury (from 1 February 2019 – 31 January 2020).

People and Safety

The People and Safety Committee was formed in December 2017 to have oversight of the FPC’s corporate culture, people and leadership, and the health, well-being and safety of FPC staff and contractors. Mr Ross Holt (Chair), Mr Robert Pearce (from 1 July 2018 to 1 February 2019), Ms Vanessa Elliott, Ms Jacqueline Jarvis (from 1 February 2019); and Mr Nick Bayes (from 1 February 2019 – 31 January 2020) are members of the Committee.

Plantation Investment

The Plantation Investment Committee was formed in March 2019 to have oversight of the Softwood Strategy, with an emphasis on the estate expansion requirements to ensure industry sustainability. Mr Ross Holt (Chair), Ms Amelia Yam (until 31 December 2019), Ms Jacqueline Jarvis and Mr Bob Pearce are members of the Committee.

Commission meetings and remuneration

The role and functions of the Commission are set out in the Act and the Commission is subject to the provisions within the Statutory Corporations (Liability of Directors) Act 1996. The Commission is responsible for the performance of the FPC’s statutory functions and determines its strategic direction.

The Commission formally met seven times throughout the year. Individual members of the Commission provided their expertise on a number of important strategic issues relating to the forestry industry, safety, strategic risk management, financial and fire management. The Commissioners visited a variety of forestry field operations and met with key industry stakeholders.

The Act requires Commissioners to disclose the nature of all material of personal interest in a matter being considered, or about to be considered by the Commission, as soon as possible after the relevant facts have come to the knowledge of the commissioner.

  Commission Audit and Risk Committee People and Safety Committee Plantation Investment Committee
Number of meetings held 6 5 3 3
Name Period of membership Gross annual remuneration Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend
Mr Ross Holt (Chair) 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $50,000 6 6 N/A N/A 3 3 3 3
Mr Amelia Yam (Deputy Chair) 1 July 2019 – 31 December 2020 $10,665 0 3 1 3 N/A N/A 2 3
Mr Robert Pearce 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $20,850 6 6 5 5 N/A N/A 3 3
Ms Vanessa Elliott 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $20,850 5 6 N/A N/A 3 3 N/A N/A
Mr Nick Bayes 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $20,850 5 6 0 2 1 2 N/A N/A
Dr Louise Duxbury 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $20,850 6 6 3 3 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Ms Jacqueline Jarvis 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $2,486* 5 6 N/A N/A 2 3 3 3
Ms Catherine Broadbent (Co-opted Commissioner) 1 July 2019 – 30 June 2020 $17,513 3 3 5 5 N/A N/A 1 1

*Ms Jarvis became a contract public sector employee and is no longer entitled to remuneration.